Limited Submissions

Limited Submissions


Some grant and fellowship programs limit the number of proposals that may be submitted by an institution (and/or PI). Please refer to the USA InfoReady Review site for all active (open) limited submission competitions.  

If you want to apply for a limited submission opportunity that is not listed on the InfoReady Review site, please contact Kim Littlefield, Ph.D., for guidance about obtaining institutional nomination before developing an application for submission. Note: if you submit a proposal to a limited submission program without institutional nomination and the institutional limit is exceeded, your proposal, and other proposals submitted from the USA for that opportunity, will very likely be rejected without review. To prevent miscommunication in relation to limited submission eligibility, the USA Office of RCDL coordinates internal limited submission competitions and institutional nominee selection.

Submission - eligible, institutional nominees for various limited submission opportunities are listed below.  The Office of Research and Economic Development issues a Limited Submission Institutional Nomination Memo to a designated institutional nominee.  The nomination memo should be uploaded into the Representations and Certifications section of Cayuse SP and route with proposal documentation to certify institutional approval to submit a limited submission proposal.  Proposals routed for a limited submission opportunity without an Institutional Nomination Memo may be returned without submission.  

Announcement of Institutional Nominees

▼   2018 Mary Kay Foundation Research Grant Program Institutional Nominee
Dr. Lisa Spyrida, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
▼   2018 NSF EPSCoR Infrastructure Improvement Program: Track-4 Research Fellows (RII Track-4) Institutional Nominees

Dr. Ylenia Chiari, Department of Biology

Dr. Scott Glaberman, Department of Biology

Dr. Saeed Latif, Department of Computer and Electrical Engineering

▼   2018 NSF Major Research Instrumentation Institutional Nominees

Drs. Greg Poole and Mark Yampolskiy, College of Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering and School of Computing, Division of Computer Science, respectively.

Drs. Dhananjay Tambe and Troy Stevens, College of Medicine, Department of Physiology and Cell Biology.

▼   USA Office of Research and Economic Development National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Summer Stipends Program Nominating Process (Continuous)

USA faculty who intend to submit an NEH Summer Stipends proposal must notify Dr. Kimberly Littlefield, Assistant Vice President Research Development and Learning via email to  by May 15 annually.  Institutions may nominate up to two (2) faculty applicants. In the event that more than two applicants present notice, an internal competition will be staged to select the institutional nominees. Applicants will be notified via email by the first Monday in June if an internal competition is necessary. In the event that an internal competition is not necessary, the institutional nominees will be announced by the second Friday in July.  

The following supporting documentation will be required from an applicant if an internal competition is necessary: 1) a letter of support from the Department Chair, and 2) a one page summary of the project to be conducted. The internal limited submission competition will be managed through the USA InfoReady Review site

Please refer to the NEH Summer Stipend Website for additional details and for a copy of the most recent NEH guidelines.

USA Institutionally approved 2017 faculty nominees (for summer 2018 award):

Dr. Claire Cage, Assistant Professor, Department of History is confirmed as an institutionally-approved, eligible faculty nominee for the 2018 NEH Summer Stipend Program (15 May 2017).

Dr. Christina Lindeman, Assistant Professor of Art History, Department of Visual Arts is confirmed as an institutionally-approved eligible faculty nominee for the 2018 NEH Summer Stipend Program (10 August 2017).